Orange County Food Council

Building partnerships, identifying issues, and coordinating action


Leave a comment

Call for Applications: Council Coordinator Position

The Orange County Food Council, established in 2016, is conducting a search for a part-time council coordinator to work up to 20 hours per week to support the work of the Council and its workgroups. This will be a contractor position with the United Way of the Greater Triangle. The duties are as follows to work for a period of eight months with an option to continue, dependent on funding:

  • Logistical support of the OCFC including securing space, sending correspondence, and securing guest speakers and necessary supplies (up to 5 hours each month).
  • Attend all meetings of OCFC, take and distribute minutes; including attendance record keeping (up to 5 hours each month). Attend workgroups as necessary.
  • Prepare for all meetings, including participation in the agenda setting meetings with OCFC leadership and Community Food Strategies (up to 10 hours each month)
  • Continuous update of electronic communications including website, Facebook and Twitter (up to 3 hours each month).
  • Assist in drafting the action plan for the OCFC.
  • Assist in planning for the community forums including conducting outreach and advertising, securing space, supplies, and refreshments, and keeping records of the proceedings of the forums.
  • Working with staff of the Family Success Alliance to assess food insecurity in their two regions.
  • Assist in Grant Writing
  • Work with the OCFC leadership to reevaluate these activities and time-frames every three months.
  • Submit no more than once each month an invoice for activities completed to one of the co-chairs of the Orange County Food Council by the 5th of each month.

 

Please submit a cover letter and resume’ to OCFC co-chair Jenn Weaver at jenn.weaver@hillsboroughnc.org by October 31, 2016.


Leave a comment

Food Council Member Roster (Spring, 2016)

Orange County Food Council Members
May, 2016

* Denotes elected official

 

Co-Chairs

Jenn Weaver* (Hillsborough, NC)
jenn.weaver@hillsboroughnc.org

 

Cyril Murphy (Efland, NC)
cyril@campchestnutridge.org

 

Administrator

Eva Bailey (Chapel Hill, NC)
eva.bailey77@yahoo.com

 

Ag Preservation Board Liaison

Ken Dawson (Cedar Grove, NC)
maple.spring.gardens@gmail.com

 

Members- At- Large

Stan Holt (Agency serves Orange County)
SHolt@unitedwaytriangle.org

Molly De Marco (Chapel Hill, NC)
molly_demarco@unc.edu

Ashley Mercer (Agency serves Orange County)
amercer@orangecountync.gov

Trevor Barhydt (Hillsborough, NC)
trevor@cbusinesssolutions.com

Patrick Mateer (Hillsborough, NC)
patrick@sealtheseasons.com

Valerie Green (Agency serves Orange County (outside of Chapel Hill-Carrboro))
Valerie.green@orange.k12.nc.us

Julia Sendor (Cedar Grove, NC)
anathothgarden@gmail.com

Mike Ortosky (Agency serves Orange County)
mortosky@orangecountync.gov

Sammy Slade* (Carrboro, NC)
sslade@townofcarrboro.org

Barry Jacobs* (Hillsborough, NC)
barryj@earthlink.net

Sally Greene* (Chapel Hill, NC)
sgreene@townofchapelhill.org