Orange County Food Council

Building partnerships, identifying issues, and coordinating action


Leave a comment

Food Council Member Roster (Spring, 2016)

Orange County Food Council Members
May, 2016

* Denotes elected official

 

Co-Chairs

Jenn Weaver* (Hillsborough, NC)
jenn.weaver@hillsboroughnc.org

 

Cyril Murphy (Efland, NC)
cyril@campchestnutridge.org

 

Administrator

Eva Bailey (Chapel Hill, NC)
eva.bailey77@yahoo.com

 

Ag Preservation Board Liaison

Ken Dawson (Cedar Grove, NC)
maple.spring.gardens@gmail.com

 

Members- At- Large

Stan Holt (Agency serves Orange County)
SHolt@unitedwaytriangle.org

Molly De Marco (Chapel Hill, NC)
molly_demarco@unc.edu

Ashley Mercer (Agency serves Orange County)
amercer@orangecountync.gov

Trevor Barhydt (Hillsborough, NC)
trevor@cbusinesssolutions.com

Patrick Mateer (Hillsborough, NC)
patrick@sealtheseasons.com

Valerie Green (Agency serves Orange County (outside of Chapel Hill-Carrboro))
Valerie.green@orange.k12.nc.us

Julia Sendor (Cedar Grove, NC)
anathothgarden@gmail.com

Mike Ortosky (Agency serves Orange County)
mortosky@orangecountync.gov

Sammy Slade* (Carrboro, NC)
sslade@townofcarrboro.org

Barry Jacobs* (Hillsborough, NC)
barryj@earthlink.net

Sally Greene* (Chapel Hill, NC)
sgreene@townofchapelhill.org


Leave a comment

Public Forum Recap

The Orange County Food Council Task Force held a successful Public Forum on Thursday, November 5th at the Chapel Hill Public Library. Food producers, restaurants, community organizers, elected officials, and concerned citizens came together for this discussion. During the forum, attendees voted that the official name of our organization should be the Orange County Food Council. Sophie Kelmenson and Sarah Prager presented their baseline food assessment which describes the state of our local food system. After the presentation, Forum attendees broke up into small group discussions based around the Whole Measures frameworks of Justice and Fairness, Strong Communities, Vibrant Farms, Healthy People, Sustainable Ecosystems, and Thriving Local Economies. After a final group discussion, attendees filled out interest forms for Food Council Task Force involvement.

Food for this event was prepared by Cyril Murphy of Camp Chestnut Ridge using food from around Orange County.

The Baseline Food Assessment Presentation is available here: Baseline Food Assessment Presentation.

The next OC Food Council Task Force meeting will be held on December 10th, 4-6 pm.

 

El Equipo de Trabajo del Consejo Alimentario del Condado de Orange llevó a cabo un exitoso Foro Público el jueves 5 de noviembre en la Biblioteca Pública de Chapel Hill. Los productores alimentarios, los restaurantes, los organizadores de la comunidad, los oficiales electos, y los ciudadanos interesados se reunieron para esta discusión. Durante el foro,  los asistentes votaron que el nombre oficial de nuestra organización debería ser el Consejo Alimentario del Condado de Orange. Sophie Kelmenson y Sarah Prager presentaron su evaluación de referencia alimentaria, la cual describe el estado de nuestro sistema alimentario local. Luego de las presentaciones, los asistentes del foro se repartieron para participar en discusiones en pequeños grupos basadas en los temas de Medidas Enteras de Justicia y Ecuanimidad, Comunidades Fuertes, Granjas Dinámicas, Gente Saludable, Ecosistemas Sustentables, y Economías Locales Prósperas. Luego de una última discusión en grupo, los asistentes completaron los formularios de interés para involucrase con el Equipo de Trabajo del Consejo Alimentario.

La comida para este evento fue preparada por Cyril Murphy de Camp Chestnut Ridge usando alimentos de diversos puntos del Condado de Orange.

La siguiente reunión del Equipo de Trabajo del Consejo Alimentario del Condado de Orange tendrá lugar el 10 de diciembre de las 4-6 pm.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.